Welcome to the Eden News Tuesday, October 3, 2017
Eden Estuary News - September Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Taybridge to Tayport Cycle Path Closure Monday, September 11, 2017
Birnie & Gaddon News - August Tuesday, August 22, 2017
Eden Estuary News - August Tuesday, August 8, 2017
Trust Volunteers Take to the Water Monday, August 7, 2017
Birnie & Gaddon News - July Thursday, July 27, 2017
Eden Estuary News - July Tuesday, July 4, 2017
Eden Estuary News - June Monday, June 5, 2017
Eden Estuary News - May Monday, May 8, 2017
Eden Estuary News - April Monday, April 3, 2017
Fife Coastal Path Works Tentsmuir Monday, March 27, 2017
Path Works - Upper Glen Vale Path Friday, March 17, 2017
Calais Muir Woodland Friday, March 17, 2017
Coastal Path Diversion Thursday, March 16, 2017
Eden Estuary News - March Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Eden Estuary News - February Friday, February 17, 2017
Fife Pilgrim Way Moves to Next Stage Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Wildlife Volunteers Record a First! Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Tawny Owl's School Visit is a Hoot Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Freuchie Den Maintenance Works Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Eden Estuary News January 2017 Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Trust Welcomes New CEO Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Seaside Awards 2016 Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Trust Staff are World Hosts! Monday, April 11, 2016
2015 Year In Review Tuesday, January 5, 2016

New Dunes for Old Trees - Sand Dune Restoration

Thursday, January 12, 2017
Fife Coast and Countryside Trust Ranger, Ranald Strachan, welcomed twenty volunteers to a volunteer day at the West Sands, St Andrews, on Saturday 7th January. The focus of the day was to combat the effects of erosion in the linear sand dunes, which are a feature of West Sands.

A public appeal saw more than 200 Christmas trees being donated, which were then placed in a badly eroded crater in the sand dunes, by the volunteers. Fife Coast and Countryside Ranger, Ranald Strachan explained that the trees would help combat the effects of offshore wind and allow sand to be deposited amongst the trees, allowing the sand dunes to regenerate over a period of time.

Commenting on the Christmas tree recycling scheme, Ranald said: “The scheme was a huge success last year and the trees helped prevent further erosion of the craters from high winds, which are such a frequent occurrence along the Fife coastline. This is the second year of this programme, which is delivered in conjunction with the St Andrews Links Trust."



Visit our YouTube channel to find out more about sand dune restoration.
Our Next Event
Access All Areas - Fife's Festival of the Great Outdoors
FCCTrust
RT @Walk_Fife: Enjoy the October break with Fife’s Access All Areas Festival hosted by @FCCTrust #walkfife… https://t.co/BgaE8Dq3GT https:/…