What's that bird? Wednesday, December 15, 2010
Coastal Path Erosion Friday, November 26, 2010
Fife Coastal Path Damage Monday, November 15, 2010
Autumns Arrival Tuesday, November 2, 2010
Scotland: National Rural Network Monday, November 1, 2010
Eden Estuary News Monday, November 1, 2010
Protecting Fife for generations to come Wednesday, October 13, 2010
A Fruitful Day at Lochore Meadows Tuesday, October 12, 2010
Eden Estaury News Monday, October 4, 2010
Fife Coastal Path Major Path Works Friday, October 1, 2010
Carse of Gowrie Orchard Festival Monday, September 27, 2010
Listening to Our Visitor Workshops Thursday, September 9, 2010
CLEAR Update Monday, September 6, 2010
Eden Estaury News Wednesday, September 1, 2010
Orchard Survey Tuesday, August 31, 2010
Scotland National Rural Network Friday, August 20, 2010
Latest Eden Estuary News Tuesday, August 10, 2010
Scotland National Rural Network Tuesday, August 3, 2010
Rural Network News Friday, July 23, 2010
Fife Outdoor Access Festival Thursday, July 22, 2010
Scots encouraged to go outdoors Thursday, July 22, 2010
BioBlitz Tuesday, July 20, 2010
Fife Coastal Closure Wednesday, July 7, 2010
Fife's Beaches Wednesday, July 7, 2010
Eden Estuary News Friday, July 2, 2010
Coast Along for WaterAid Friday, June 18, 2010
Kinghorn Beach Clean Up Thursday, June 17, 2010
Fife's Bio-Blitz Monday, June 14, 2010
Big Tent Festival Wednesday, June 9, 2010
Eden Estuary News Monday, June 7, 2010
Coastal Path Closures Friday, April 30, 2010
Big Green Footprint Scheme Launched Tuesday, April 27, 2010
Coastal Path Closures Thursday, April 22, 2010

Autumns Arrival

Tuesday, November 2, 2010
With the changing of the clocks heralding the official end of British Summer Time, the arrival of autumn has been shepherded in by a chill in the air and the turning of the leaves.

Autumn is one of the most spectacular times of year with the natural world providing a final flourish of glorious colours before winter sets it. There are many autumnal delights to be found in the natural world: what could be more enjoyable than taking a stroll through deciduous woodland with leaves of gold, orange and crimson falling all around. 

As you walk you may be lucky enough to see a red squirrel gathering beech masts, hazelnuts and other woodland treats to supplement its winter food store. Of course, many animals have devised different means of surviving the British winter with autumn a time of preparation for birds that fly to warmer African climates - lookout for swifts, swallows and house martins as they flock overhead before starting on their 6000 mile – and animals that hibernate during the cold winter months.

If you come across a hedgehog in your garden during autumn it may very well be looking for a secure spot in which to hibernate. You can help hedgehogs by providing natural nesting places such as log piles, compost heaps, and gaps under a hedge or the garden shed.

Such sightings of wildlife in your garden or Local Park provide valuable information that can be used to understand and protect wildlife at local, national and international levels.

Fife Nature Records Centre aims to gather wildlife information and make it available to all who can help to conserve wildlife. You can contribute to this by submitting records of the wildlife you see to Fife Nature Records Centre. For more information on wildlife recording please visit the Fife Nature Records Centre website www.fifenature.co.uk
Our Next Event
Our events page is regularly updated with new events.
FCCTrust
@FCCTrust We are hiring visit https://t.co/3jrYGj3AqY to find out more. https://t.co/qkMnJx0rcV