What's that bird? Wednesday, December 15, 2010
Coastal Path Erosion Friday, November 26, 2010
Fife Coastal Path Damage Monday, November 15, 2010
Autumns Arrival Tuesday, November 2, 2010
Scotland: National Rural Network Monday, November 1, 2010
Eden Estuary News Monday, November 1, 2010
Protecting Fife for generations to come Wednesday, October 13, 2010
A Fruitful Day at Lochore Meadows Tuesday, October 12, 2010
Eden Estaury News Monday, October 4, 2010
Fife Coastal Path Major Path Works Friday, October 1, 2010
Carse of Gowrie Orchard Festival Monday, September 27, 2010
Listening to Our Visitor Workshops Thursday, September 9, 2010
CLEAR Update Monday, September 6, 2010
Eden Estaury News Wednesday, September 1, 2010
Orchard Survey Tuesday, August 31, 2010
Scotland National Rural Network Friday, August 20, 2010
Latest Eden Estuary News Tuesday, August 10, 2010
Scotland National Rural Network Tuesday, August 3, 2010
Rural Network News Friday, July 23, 2010
Fife Outdoor Access Festival Thursday, July 22, 2010
Scots encouraged to go outdoors Thursday, July 22, 2010
BioBlitz Tuesday, July 20, 2010
Fife Coastal Closure Wednesday, July 7, 2010
Fife's Beaches Wednesday, July 7, 2010
Eden Estuary News Friday, July 2, 2010
Coast Along for WaterAid Friday, June 18, 2010
Kinghorn Beach Clean Up Thursday, June 17, 2010
Fife's Bio-Blitz Monday, June 14, 2010
Big Tent Festival Wednesday, June 9, 2010
Eden Estuary News Monday, June 7, 2010
Coastal Path Closures Friday, April 30, 2010
Big Green Footprint Scheme Launched Tuesday, April 27, 2010
Coastal Path Closures Thursday, April 22, 2010

BioBlitz

Tuesday, July 20, 2010
A recent event organised by the Fife Coast & Countryside Trust recorded an impressive 200 different species of plants and animals in the small Lime Kilns region of the Lomond Hills Regional Park.

This wildlife recording event, known as a ‘BioBlitz’ was one of a series of events being held across the UK in celebration of the 2010 International Year of Biodiversity. The event involved many members of the public, students, naturalists and scientists trying to find as many different types of wildlife as possible within a particular area and over a certain time period.

The Fife BioBlitz, supported by funding from Celebrating Fife 2010, consisted of several wildlife recording activities each led by expert members of the Fife Ranger Service and several local naturalists assisting the public to identify wildlife. For example, the moth trapping activity, led by Countryside Ranger Kate Morison and Duncan Davidson (Butterfly Conservation), was particularly successful with a fantastic 43 different species recorded including the spectacular poplar hawk moth.

All of the records generated during the BioBlitz were collected by Alexa Tweddle, Information Officer for Fife Nature Records Centre, part of the Fife Coast & Countryside Trust. These records provide valuable information that can be used to protect and enhance Fife’s wildlife and will be made available to those who have a role to play in nature conservation.

While events such as the BioBlitz help to generate a lot of records at once, you too can submit records of the wildlife you see to Fife Nature Records Centre. For more information on wildlife recording please visit the Fife Nature Records Centre website www.fifenature.co.uk.
Our Next Event
Our events page is regularly updated with new events.
FCCTrust
@FCCTrust We are hiring visit https://t.co/3jrYGj3AqY to find out more. https://t.co/qkMnJx0rcV