What's that bird? Wednesday, December 15, 2010
Coastal Path Erosion Friday, November 26, 2010
Fife Coastal Path Damage Monday, November 15, 2010
Autumns Arrival Tuesday, November 2, 2010
Scotland: National Rural Network Monday, November 1, 2010
Eden Estuary News Monday, November 1, 2010
Protecting Fife for generations to come Wednesday, October 13, 2010
A Fruitful Day at Lochore Meadows Tuesday, October 12, 2010
Eden Estaury News Monday, October 4, 2010
Fife Coastal Path Major Path Works Friday, October 1, 2010
Carse of Gowrie Orchard Festival Monday, September 27, 2010
Listening to Our Visitor Workshops Thursday, September 9, 2010
CLEAR Update Monday, September 6, 2010
Eden Estaury News Wednesday, September 1, 2010
Orchard Survey Tuesday, August 31, 2010
Scotland National Rural Network Friday, August 20, 2010
Latest Eden Estuary News Tuesday, August 10, 2010
Scotland National Rural Network Tuesday, August 3, 2010
Rural Network News Friday, July 23, 2010
Fife Outdoor Access Festival Thursday, July 22, 2010
Scots encouraged to go outdoors Thursday, July 22, 2010
BioBlitz Tuesday, July 20, 2010
Fife Coastal Closure Wednesday, July 7, 2010
Fife's Beaches Wednesday, July 7, 2010
Eden Estuary News Friday, July 2, 2010
Coast Along for WaterAid Friday, June 18, 2010
Kinghorn Beach Clean Up Thursday, June 17, 2010
Fife's Bio-Blitz Monday, June 14, 2010
Big Tent Festival Wednesday, June 9, 2010
Eden Estuary News Monday, June 7, 2010
Coastal Path Closures Friday, April 30, 2010
Big Green Footprint Scheme Launched Tuesday, April 27, 2010
Coastal Path Closures Thursday, April 22, 2010

Mountaineering Author to Speak at Fife Outdoor Access Festival

Thursday, July 22, 2010

One of mountaineering’s most celebrated writers and practitioners is to speak at this year’s Fife Outdoor Access Festival, which will run from Saturday 31st July – Sunday 8th August, in the first ever “indoor” event the festival has ever held.

Stuart Johnston, author of the Hillwalkers Guide to Mountaineering and the Mountain Skills Training Handbook, and one of the UK’s most respected mountaineering instructors, will deliver an entertaining lecture designed to inspire walkers on how to take the next step in the transition from walking to mountaineering.

The festival, which is in its third year, has no less than 40 walks as part of its event programme which has been designed to celebrate Fife’s great outdoors and promote the access message through offering a wide range of events covering everything from walking to cycling, and rambling for the disabled to horse riding.

The introduction of an indoor, education based event is a new avenue for the festival but one which the festival organisers feel is wholly appropriate.  Tricia Fox, festival organiser commented “We’re delighted to have Stuart’s commitment to be involved with this year’s festival. Access spans many activities and, indeed, many terrains and for those avid hillwalkers who are wondering about how to take the next step but are unsure of how to, Stuart is by far a leading figure in helping people do just that. We’re delighted her has agreed to deliver a talk in Fife and hope that it will be popular with those hillwalkers who are interested in developing their uphill access skills even further.”

Councillor Marilyn Whitehead also commented on the event, “We have such a strong range of events at this year’s festival; there is clearly something for everyone. Access to the countryside is as much about information and education, as it is about doing and helping people learn how to access new heights is at the core of what the festival is about.”

This year’s festival plays a key role in the “Celebrating Fife” campaign which is co-ordinated by Fife Council.

Stuart Johnston’s talk will be held on Monday 2nd August, at 7pm at the Carnegie Conference Centre in Dunfermline. For tickets, visit www.fifeoutdooraccessfestival.co.uk.

Our Next Event
Our events page is regularly updated with new events.
FCCTrust
@FCCTrust We are hiring visit https://t.co/3jrYGj3AqY to find out more. https://t.co/qkMnJx0rcV