What's that bird? Wednesday, December 15, 2010
Coastal Path Erosion Friday, November 26, 2010
Fife Coastal Path Damage Monday, November 15, 2010
Autumns Arrival Tuesday, November 2, 2010
Scotland: National Rural Network Monday, November 1, 2010
Eden Estuary News Monday, November 1, 2010
Protecting Fife for generations to come Wednesday, October 13, 2010
A Fruitful Day at Lochore Meadows Tuesday, October 12, 2010
Eden Estaury News Monday, October 4, 2010
Fife Coastal Path Major Path Works Friday, October 1, 2010
Carse of Gowrie Orchard Festival Monday, September 27, 2010
Listening to Our Visitor Workshops Thursday, September 9, 2010
CLEAR Update Monday, September 6, 2010
Eden Estaury News Wednesday, September 1, 2010
Orchard Survey Tuesday, August 31, 2010
Scotland National Rural Network Friday, August 20, 2010
Latest Eden Estuary News Tuesday, August 10, 2010
Scotland National Rural Network Tuesday, August 3, 2010
Rural Network News Friday, July 23, 2010
Fife Outdoor Access Festival Thursday, July 22, 2010
Scots encouraged to go outdoors Thursday, July 22, 2010
BioBlitz Tuesday, July 20, 2010
Fife Coastal Closure Wednesday, July 7, 2010
Fife's Beaches Wednesday, July 7, 2010
Eden Estuary News Friday, July 2, 2010
Coast Along for WaterAid Friday, June 18, 2010
Kinghorn Beach Clean Up Thursday, June 17, 2010
Fife's Bio-Blitz Monday, June 14, 2010
Big Tent Festival Wednesday, June 9, 2010
Eden Estuary News Monday, June 7, 2010
Coastal Path Closures Friday, April 30, 2010
Big Green Footprint Scheme Launched Tuesday, April 27, 2010
Coastal Path Closures Thursday, April 22, 2010

Record Number of Beach Awards for Fife

Friday, May 28, 2010
Fife’s beaches have come out top yet again at this year’s Seaside Award scheme, run by Keep Scotland Beautiful. Fife boasts five of Scotland’s seven International Blue Flag beaches and, for the first time, now has 15 Seaside Award winning beaches. The five beaches awarded the coveted Blue Flag status are:

Aberdour Silver Sands
Burntisland
ElieRubyBay (Woodhaven)
Leven and
St Andrews West Sands.

The Blue Flag is a prestigious, international award scheme which acts as a guarantee to tourists and locals alike that a beach or marina they are visiting is one of the best in the world. Fife Council and its partners are delighted that five of Fife’s coastal destinations have achieved the highest accolade.

John Summers OBE, Chief Executive of Keep Scotland Beautiful welcomed the announcement. He said: "This year there are more beach award flags flying around the Fife coast than ever and I am particularly pleased to see a new beach – St Andrews Bruce Embankment – join the throng. I am also delighted that Leven East has been awarded the Blue Flag again.”

"Although it is disappointing that the Blue Flag will not be awarded to ElieHarbour this year Keep Scotland Beautiful is delighted that the beach will continue to be managed under the Seaside Award criteria and standards will be maintained. A cleansing regime will remain in place, qualified lifeguards will patrol the beach and up to date water quality information will be provided. “

“Since the beach award programmes first started in Scotland Fife Council has led the way in beach management and there has been a gradual build up in the number of awards issued in the area. This is great news, particularly in our current economic climate, because the people of, and visitors to, Fife have a great choice of well managed beaches to visit right on their doorstep”.

Councillor Brain Goodall, Chair of the Housing & Communities Committee said: "I'm delighted that yet again, a record number of beaches in Fife have been recognised. Boasting five of Scotland's seven Blue Flag beaches here in Fife is quite an achievement and it is a testament to the hard work of the local communities as well as Fife Council employees. Fife Council is the only local authority area to have all the designated bathing waters under its management as award winning beaches."


Our Next Event
Our events page is regularly updated with new events.
FCCTrust
@FCCTrust We are hiring visit https://t.co/3jrYGj3AqY to find out more. https://t.co/qkMnJx0rcV