2012 was a Wild Year in Fife Friday, December 21, 2012
Tree planting in Buckhaven Wednesday, December 12, 2012
Waxwing spotted in Leven Monday, December 10, 2012
Boardwalk to the wilderness Wednesday, December 5, 2012
Eden Estuary News Friday, November 30, 2012
Christmas Paper Craft Workshop Friday, November 9, 2012
Nature Trail Townhill Woods Thursday, November 1, 2012
Roadworks Wednesday, October 31, 2012
East Neuk Volunteers Friday, October 26, 2012
Volunteers Wanted!! Tuesday, October 16, 2012
East Neuk Volunteers Tuesday, October 16, 2012
Landslide on Coastal Path Tuesday, October 16, 2012
Path work at St Monans Church Tuesday, October 9, 2012
Adopt a Beach Thursday, October 4, 2012
Seabirds Friday, September 28, 2012
Fun Day Event at Aberdour Silver Sands Thursday, September 27, 2012
Be aware, landslide on Coastal Path Wednesday, September 26, 2012
Open Water Course Thursday, September 13, 2012
Eden Estuary News Monday, September 3, 2012
MCS Beachwatch Monday, September 3, 2012
Coastal Path Closure at Anstruther Monday, September 3, 2012
News from Eden Estuary Wednesday, August 29, 2012
Advice Wednesday, August 29, 2012
Litter Wednesday, August 29, 2012
Big thank you for a great Day Friday, August 10, 2012
Blue Flags for Fife Beaches Thursday, August 9, 2012
Jubilee beacon lights up East Lomond Thursday, August 9, 2012
Red Squirrels Thriving at Tentsmuir Thursday, August 9, 2012
Go nuts at Tentsmuir! Thursday, August 9, 2012
Eden Estuary News Thursday, August 9, 2012
See-Birds at The Castle Thursday, August 9, 2012
Clean up day Tuesday, August 7, 2012
Helping you find your Way Wednesday, July 25, 2012
Sophie Squirrel at the Big Tent Wednesday, July 25, 2012
Be Aware Friday, July 20, 2012
Elie Scarecrow Festival Monday, April 30, 2012
Completed path is on the map Friday, April 20, 2012
Harbourís history brought to life Friday, April 20, 2012
Nature's Beauty Monday, April 16, 2012
Fife's path just got longer ... Thursday, March 8, 2012
Eden Estuary News Friday, March 2, 2012
Eden Estuary News Wednesday, February 1, 2012
Dalbeath Marsh News Wednesday, February 1, 2012
Bluebells on the Move Thursday, January 26, 2012
Tree Planting Day Thursday, January 26, 2012
Teachers go down to the woods Thursday, January 26, 2012
Red Squirrel Trail Thursday, January 26, 2012

Early Christmas trees for red squirrel tree planting

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

West Fife’s red squirrels received an early Christmas gift this year as 200 of their favourite trees were planted at the Scottish Police College in Tulliallan.
Tulliallan is an ideal location as it is connected to Devilla Forest, one of the nine key woodland sites for red squirrels identified in Fife Biodiversity Partnership’s Local Biodiversity Action Plan.
The tree planting was organised by Fife Red Squirrel Project Officer Sophie Eastwood and Forestry Commission Scotland (FCS) Community Ranger Jenny Ventham to enhance this vital habitat for the local reds.
Sophie and Jenny received a helping hand on the day from FCS, the Scottish Police College Estates Team, the West Fife Woodlands Group and Fife Coast and Countryside Trust (FCCT) volunteers.
The trees planted at Tulliallan – including Scots pine, yew, blackthorn and Norway spruce – make up the core of the red squirrel’s natural habitat.
“We’d like to say a big thank you to all the volunteers who braved the dreich weather,” said Sophie Eastwood.
“The red squirrel is at serious risk from its cousin the American grey squirrel, which carries the deadly squirrel poxvirus and is creeping closer and closer to Fife, so it is more vital than ever to give these incredible animals a helping hand whenever and wherever possible.
“Devilla Forest area is very important to the local reds, so planting red squirrel friendly trees at Tulliallan not only helped to increase their habitat for better chances of survival but will also deter grey squirrels that find these kinds of conifer and small-seeded broadleaf habitats inhospitable.”
Tom Kenny, Estates Supervisor at the Scottish Police College, commented: "The Scottish Police College has worked together with the Fife Red Squirrel group for a number of years now and we are pleased to be able to offer this additional help to our native red squirrels in the form of the planting of a number of trees which will provide the squirrels with food and shelter for many years to come."

The Fife Red Squirrel Project is co-ordinated by the Fife Coast & Countryside Trust and is also supported by the Fife Environment Trust, Heritage Lottery Fund and is being part-financed by the Scottish Government and the European Community LEADER in Fife programme 2007-2013.



Photo captions: Both photos should to be accredited to Malcolm Marshall, member of the Estate’s Team at Scottish Police College
Photo 1: Group shot taken by Malcom Marshall
Photo 2: Red squirrel at Scottish Police College in Tulliallan taken by Marlcom Marshall.



Our Next Event
Christmas Wreath Workshop
FCCTrust
@FCCT @KSBScotland #RoadsideLitter is a blight on our roadsides. Please #GiveYourLitterALift this winter #TakeItHome https://t.co/wl8V1Acxqv