2012 was a Wild Year in Fife Friday, December 21, 2012
Tree planting in Buckhaven Wednesday, December 12, 2012
Waxwing spotted in Leven Monday, December 10, 2012
Boardwalk to the wilderness Wednesday, December 5, 2012
Eden Estuary News Friday, November 30, 2012
Christmas Paper Craft Workshop Friday, November 9, 2012
Nature Trail Townhill Woods Thursday, November 1, 2012
Roadworks Wednesday, October 31, 2012
East Neuk Volunteers Friday, October 26, 2012
Volunteers Wanted!! Tuesday, October 16, 2012
East Neuk Volunteers Tuesday, October 16, 2012
Landslide on Coastal Path Tuesday, October 16, 2012
Path work at St Monans Church Tuesday, October 9, 2012
Adopt a Beach Thursday, October 4, 2012
Seabirds Friday, September 28, 2012
Fun Day Event at Aberdour Silver Sands Thursday, September 27, 2012
Be aware, landslide on Coastal Path Wednesday, September 26, 2012
Open Water Course Thursday, September 13, 2012
Eden Estuary News Monday, September 3, 2012
MCS Beachwatch Monday, September 3, 2012
Coastal Path Closure at Anstruther Monday, September 3, 2012
News from Eden Estuary Wednesday, August 29, 2012
Advice Wednesday, August 29, 2012
Litter Wednesday, August 29, 2012
Big thank you for a great Day Friday, August 10, 2012
Blue Flags for Fife Beaches Thursday, August 9, 2012
Jubilee beacon lights up East Lomond Thursday, August 9, 2012
Red Squirrels Thriving at Tentsmuir Thursday, August 9, 2012
Go nuts at Tentsmuir! Thursday, August 9, 2012
Eden Estuary News Thursday, August 9, 2012
See-Birds at The Castle Thursday, August 9, 2012
Clean up day Tuesday, August 7, 2012
Helping you find your Way Wednesday, July 25, 2012
Sophie Squirrel at the Big Tent Wednesday, July 25, 2012
Be Aware Friday, July 20, 2012
Elie Scarecrow Festival Monday, April 30, 2012
Completed path is on the map Friday, April 20, 2012
Harbourís history brought to life Friday, April 20, 2012
Nature's Beauty Monday, April 16, 2012
Fife's path just got longer ... Thursday, March 8, 2012
Eden Estuary News Friday, March 2, 2012
Eden Estuary News Wednesday, February 1, 2012
Dalbeath Marsh News Wednesday, February 1, 2012
Bluebells on the Move Thursday, January 26, 2012
Tree Planting Day Thursday, January 26, 2012
Teachers go down to the woods Thursday, January 26, 2012
Red Squirrel Trail Thursday, January 26, 2012

Go nuts at Tentsmuir!

Thursday, August 9, 2012


It’s a red letter day for Fife’s red squirrel fans on Thursday, August 9, thanks to a free family fun day at Tentsmuir Forest.
The event, running from noon to 4pm, will include ranger-led squirrel walks, face-painting and a make-your-own squirrel challenge, plus many other activities.
It has been organised by Sophie Eastwood, red squirrel project officer for Fife Coast and Countryside Trust.
“With recent records strongly suggesting that Tentsmuir’s red squirrel population is rising, there are plenty of reasons to celebrate everything about these lovely native mammals,” said Sophie.
“As well as all the day’s fun activities, there will be information points to learn all about Fife’s red squirrels and what people can do to help them thrive across the Kingdom.”
The Fife Red Squirrel Group and other local organisations working to maintain and enhance the number of red squirrels across Fife will also be on-hand to offer their expertise and join in the fun.
Dedicated conservation measures to enhance red squirrels and control their non-native grey cousins – taken by Forestry Commission Scotland, Scotland Natural Heritage and Fife Coast and Countryside Trust – have helped Tentsmuir’s red squirrel population to flourish.
Scotland’s red squirrel population is only an estimated 121,000 – 75 per cent of the UK total – and it remains under severe threat from the larger grey squirrels, which compete for food and spread the deadly squirrel pox virus among the reds.
Anyone keen to take part in the event is invited to meet at the picnic area by Tentsmuir Car Park, which is reached by following the signs for Tentsmuir Forest from the A92 between Leuchars and Tayport.
Entry is free, but car parking costs £2 and there will be a small charge for face painting.

Face painting by Mary Fairgrieve of Face This Way







Our Next Event
Christmas Wreath Workshop
FCCTrust
@FCCT @KSBScotland #RoadsideLitter is a blight on our roadsides. Please #GiveYourLitterALift this winter #TakeItHome https://t.co/wl8V1Acxqv