2012 was a Wild Year in Fife Friday, December 21, 2012
Tree planting in Buckhaven Wednesday, December 12, 2012
Waxwing spotted in Leven Monday, December 10, 2012
Boardwalk to the wilderness Wednesday, December 5, 2012
Eden Estuary News Friday, November 30, 2012
Christmas Paper Craft Workshop Friday, November 9, 2012
Nature Trail Townhill Woods Thursday, November 1, 2012
Roadworks Wednesday, October 31, 2012
East Neuk Volunteers Friday, October 26, 2012
Volunteers Wanted!! Tuesday, October 16, 2012
East Neuk Volunteers Tuesday, October 16, 2012
Landslide on Coastal Path Tuesday, October 16, 2012
Path work at St Monans Church Tuesday, October 9, 2012
Adopt a Beach Thursday, October 4, 2012
Seabirds Friday, September 28, 2012
Fun Day Event at Aberdour Silver Sands Thursday, September 27, 2012
Be aware, landslide on Coastal Path Wednesday, September 26, 2012
Open Water Course Thursday, September 13, 2012
Eden Estuary News Monday, September 3, 2012
MCS Beachwatch Monday, September 3, 2012
Coastal Path Closure at Anstruther Monday, September 3, 2012
News from Eden Estuary Wednesday, August 29, 2012
Advice Wednesday, August 29, 2012
Litter Wednesday, August 29, 2012
Big thank you for a great Day Friday, August 10, 2012
Blue Flags for Fife Beaches Thursday, August 9, 2012
Jubilee beacon lights up East Lomond Thursday, August 9, 2012
Red Squirrels Thriving at Tentsmuir Thursday, August 9, 2012
Go nuts at Tentsmuir! Thursday, August 9, 2012
Eden Estuary News Thursday, August 9, 2012
See-Birds at The Castle Thursday, August 9, 2012
Clean up day Tuesday, August 7, 2012
Helping you find your Way Wednesday, July 25, 2012
Sophie Squirrel at the Big Tent Wednesday, July 25, 2012
Be Aware Friday, July 20, 2012
Elie Scarecrow Festival Monday, April 30, 2012
Completed path is on the map Friday, April 20, 2012
Harbourís history brought to life Friday, April 20, 2012
Nature's Beauty Monday, April 16, 2012
Fife's path just got longer ... Thursday, March 8, 2012
Eden Estuary News Friday, March 2, 2012
Eden Estuary News Wednesday, February 1, 2012
Dalbeath Marsh News Wednesday, February 1, 2012
Bluebells on the Move Thursday, January 26, 2012
Tree Planting Day Thursday, January 26, 2012
Teachers go down to the woods Thursday, January 26, 2012
Red Squirrel Trail Thursday, January 26, 2012

Harbourís history brought to life

Friday, April 20, 2012
The evidence and impact of Dysart’s once bustling busy commercial port, which at one time, was used by tall-masted sailing ships packed so tightly it was possible to walk from one side to the dock to the other, is being brought to life with the launch of audio guides for use on the Dysart Trail.
The new audio guides, designed by local company New Age Film as part of a project developed by Fife Coast and Countryside Trust and Fife Historic Buildings Trust, narrates a well-researched and colourful account of the area’s local history and are designed to be used on the Dysart Trail which takes in 11 of the town’s most historic sites and buildings. The audio guides have been funded by Historic Scotland, the Heritage Lottery Fund and Fife Council.
Walkers can access the audio equipment at the award-winning Harbourmaster’s House – the building itself is the subject of a new 12-page booklet being launched by FCCT, recounting its role, and the influence of successive harbourmasters, in the life of Dysart harbour. The booklet has been part-funded by the European Regional Development Fund under the Lowlands and Uplands Scotland Programme 2001 – 2013.
Content for the booklet was written by Jim Swan and Carol McNeill of The Dysart Trust – a charity aimed at preserving and documenting the history of the town. Their impressive detail of the town dating from 1450 to present day, will undoubtedly interest both locals and visitors to the area. Carol and Jim also supported New Age Film with the development of the script for the audio guides
Jim Swan, Chair of The Dysart Trust, said: “Dysart is a fascinating place, in its heyday as a trading port, there was a wide variety of goods being exported and imported which not only had a local economic impact, but also a lasting legacy on the look, culture and importance of the town.
“The Dysart Trail has been in existence for some years, but the audio guide will definitely add another dimension to the experience of walking it, and even those who are familiar with the town and its history, may find they learn some new facts about their local history.”
Amanda McFarlane said; “As the Trust is based at the Harbourmaster’s House, it is particularly rewarding to be able to deliver these two new initiatives which share and highlight the importance of the town and its historical impact on Fife.
“We would encourage people to come down to the Harbourmaster’s House and use the audio kits as they walk the Dysart Trail, it really brings the sights and sounds of the town’s past alive.”
Dysart Trail audio kits are free to use, but a small refundable deposit is required. Any donations to support the maintenance of the equipment or the Harbourmaster’s House are very welcome.



Photo caption: left to right: Jim Swan, chair of The Dysart Trust, Simon Phillips, Fife Coast and Countryside Trust, Carol McNeill, vice chair of The Dysart Trust and Lawrie Brewster, New Age Films


Our Next Event
Christmas Wreath Workshop
FCCTrust
@FCCT @KSBScotland #RoadsideLitter is a blight on our roadsides. Please #GiveYourLitterALift this winter #TakeItHome https://t.co/wl8V1Acxqv