2012 was a Wild Year in Fife Friday, December 21, 2012
Tree planting in Buckhaven Wednesday, December 12, 2012
Waxwing spotted in Leven Monday, December 10, 2012
Boardwalk to the wilderness Wednesday, December 5, 2012
Eden Estuary News Friday, November 30, 2012
Christmas Paper Craft Workshop Friday, November 9, 2012
Nature Trail Townhill Woods Thursday, November 1, 2012
Roadworks Wednesday, October 31, 2012
East Neuk Volunteers Friday, October 26, 2012
Volunteers Wanted!! Tuesday, October 16, 2012
East Neuk Volunteers Tuesday, October 16, 2012
Landslide on Coastal Path Tuesday, October 16, 2012
Path work at St Monans Church Tuesday, October 9, 2012
Adopt a Beach Thursday, October 4, 2012
Seabirds Friday, September 28, 2012
Fun Day Event at Aberdour Silver Sands Thursday, September 27, 2012
Be aware, landslide on Coastal Path Wednesday, September 26, 2012
Open Water Course Thursday, September 13, 2012
Eden Estuary News Monday, September 3, 2012
MCS Beachwatch Monday, September 3, 2012
Coastal Path Closure at Anstruther Monday, September 3, 2012
News from Eden Estuary Wednesday, August 29, 2012
Advice Wednesday, August 29, 2012
Litter Wednesday, August 29, 2012
Big thank you for a great Day Friday, August 10, 2012
Blue Flags for Fife Beaches Thursday, August 9, 2012
Jubilee beacon lights up East Lomond Thursday, August 9, 2012
Red Squirrels Thriving at Tentsmuir Thursday, August 9, 2012
Go nuts at Tentsmuir! Thursday, August 9, 2012
Eden Estuary News Thursday, August 9, 2012
See-Birds at The Castle Thursday, August 9, 2012
Clean up day Tuesday, August 7, 2012
Helping you find your Way Wednesday, July 25, 2012
Sophie Squirrel at the Big Tent Wednesday, July 25, 2012
Be Aware Friday, July 20, 2012
Elie Scarecrow Festival Monday, April 30, 2012
Completed path is on the map Friday, April 20, 2012
Harbourís history brought to life Friday, April 20, 2012
Nature's Beauty Monday, April 16, 2012
Fife's path just got longer ... Thursday, March 8, 2012
Eden Estuary News Friday, March 2, 2012
Eden Estuary News Wednesday, February 1, 2012
Dalbeath Marsh News Wednesday, February 1, 2012
Bluebells on the Move Thursday, January 26, 2012
Tree Planting Day Thursday, January 26, 2012
Teachers go down to the woods Thursday, January 26, 2012
Red Squirrel Trail Thursday, January 26, 2012

Teachers go down to the woods

Thursday, January 26, 2012
In October, FCCT hosted 14 teaching professionals from across Fife who took part in outdoor-learning training at Lochore Meadows Country Park. This event is one of a series designed for teachers and teaching support staff who want to deliver outdoor learning as part of the curriculum.

Teaching outdoors has been identified by the Scottish Government as a beneficial and valuable experience, and it is committed to delivering outdoor education for every child in Scotland. The training, offered by FCCT through Fife Council’s education services, aims to give teachers the skills and knowledge to teach outdoors with pupils.

The first of four outdoor learning sessions, teaching professionals were introduced to basic woodland identification. The Trust offers a range of courses to compliment the forest school training on subjects such as how to light, manage and extinguish a small fire, cook outdoors, tree and woodland identification, as well Forest Schools.

Conducting the course, Ranger Karen Yearsley based at Lochore Meadows said: “Outdoor learning is a fantastic and rewarding experience for children, young people and adults. The training we offer teaching professionals links with The Scottish Government’s Curriculum for Excellence, so skills and knowledge learnt here can be taken back to nurseries and schools allowing more teachers to get outdoors with their pupils.”

Attending the course, Rosemary Reid from Inverkeithing Nursery, said: “The training was very informative, we can apply the knowledge we gained for leaf and tree identification session with children in a range of contexts. The experience will help us take our Forest Kindergarten forward and enhance the learning experiences we can offer.”
Our Next Event
Christmas Wreath Workshop
FCCTrust
@FCCT @KSBScotland #RoadsideLitter is a blight on our roadsides. Please #GiveYourLitterALift this winter #TakeItHome https://t.co/wl8V1Acxqv