Loo of the Year Award Winners! Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Loo of the Year Award Winners! Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Aspen Tree Planting Success Saturday, December 7, 2013
Dysart Storm surge Thursday, December 5, 2013
FCCT helps introduce sheep to Outhead Tuesday, November 19, 2013
Mini-beast benefits at School Wood Thursday, November 7, 2013
The Beginnings of Chocolate Tuesday, October 8, 2013
Fife Coastal Path relay accomplished Saturday, October 5, 2013
Coastal Geology Weekend Success Friday, October 4, 2013
Coastal Geology Weekend Success Friday, October 4, 2013
Path Diversion at East Wemyss Wednesday, October 2, 2013
SEAFIELD TOWER Thursday, September 5, 2013
Leuchars Airshow 7th September Friday, August 30, 2013
West Sands Drop in Day Friday, August 30, 2013
Sea Eagles Breed in Fife! Friday, August 30, 2013
On the Eden Friday, August 30, 2013
Dolphins Friday, August 30, 2013
West Sands Event Thursday, August 15, 2013
Birnie Loch Training and Fun Day Monday, August 12, 2013
Parking disruptions Monday, August 5, 2013
Salt, Coal & Whisky! Tuesday, July 23, 2013
Birnie Loch Family Day Thursday, July 18, 2013
Cows on Fife Coastal Path Tuesday, July 16, 2013
Allan Crow Blog - part 2 Friday, July 12, 2013
Allan Crow Blog Thursday, July 11, 2013
Eden Estuary News Wednesday, July 3, 2013
Introduction to Qigong Tuesday, June 4, 2013
Eden Estuary News Monday, June 3, 2013
Dogs in the Countryside Monday, June 3, 2013
Fife Show 2013 Friday, May 17, 2013
Eden Estuary News Thursday, May 2, 2013
Elie Scarecrow Festival Monday, April 29, 2013
Geology Walk Event Friday, March 8, 2013
Spring Re-vamp Decoupage Event Friday, March 1, 2013
Eden Estuary News Friday, March 1, 2013
Geology Walk Event Thursday, February 21, 2013
Red Squirrel Talk Thursday, February 7, 2013
Eden Estuary News Tuesday, February 5, 2013
Landslips Wednesday, January 9, 2013
Adopt a Beach Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Explore Fife's coastal geology on guided walk

Thursday, September 19, 2013
If you're interested in learning about Fife’s geological history then you;re invited to explore the East Neuk’s coast with two expert guides.

Next weekend (Saturday 28th and Sunday 29th), geological tour guide Angus Miller of Geowalks, accompanied by Fife Coast and Countryside Ranger Deirdre Munro, will lead a 2-day coastal walk between Lower Largo and Elie on Saturday and Elie and Anstruther on Sunday to discover and explain Fife's volcanic history and best geology.

The group will assemble at Old Station Car Park in Lower Largo at 9:30am on Saturday for introductions over coffee and scones before setting off on the first leg of the 13.5 mile exploration.

“The varied character of Fife’s coast comes from a fantastic mix of rocks formed by varied events i hundreds of millions of years ago,” said Angus.

“Over the course of this weekend walk, I will discuss how various rock types created by sediment deposits and abundant volcanic activity has helped to shape the local landscape.

“Every mile of the Fife Coastal Path has something new to offer, so we explore a bit of everything from sandy beaches to cliffs and volcanic structures to fossils.”

The geology walk will take about six hours each day at a moderate walking pace with frequent stops to enjoy the views. It is open to everyone 16 and over who is comfortable with rough terrain and stiles.
Walkers are advised to wear appropriate footwear and waterproof and windproof clothing and bring a packed lunch. Transport back to the walks’ starting points will be provided.

Places on the Geology Walks will cost £60 per student and £85 per adult and can be booked by calling 01592 656080 or online through our events page.

If you'd like any more information about the event then please call us on the number above, e-mail us at:ask.us@fifecountryside.co.uk  , or use our contact form here

To learn more about the coastline between Lower Largo and Anstruther, check out Fife Coast and Countryside Trust’s The Fife Coastal Path: The Official Guide for unique insight from the rangers who know the Fife Coastal Path best.
Our Next Event
Christmas Wreath Workshop
FCCTrust
@FCCT @KSBScotland #RoadsideLitter is a blight on our roadsides. Please #GiveYourLitterALift this winter #TakeItHome https://t.co/wl8V1Acxqv