Loo of the Year Award Winners! Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Loo of the Year Award Winners! Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Aspen Tree Planting Success Saturday, December 7, 2013
Dysart Storm surge Thursday, December 5, 2013
FCCT helps introduce sheep to Outhead Tuesday, November 19, 2013
Mini-beast benefits at School Wood Thursday, November 7, 2013
The Beginnings of Chocolate Tuesday, October 8, 2013
Fife Coastal Path relay accomplished Saturday, October 5, 2013
Coastal Geology Weekend Success Friday, October 4, 2013
Coastal Geology Weekend Success Friday, October 4, 2013
Path Diversion at East Wemyss Wednesday, October 2, 2013
SEAFIELD TOWER Thursday, September 5, 2013
Leuchars Airshow 7th September Friday, August 30, 2013
West Sands Drop in Day Friday, August 30, 2013
Sea Eagles Breed in Fife! Friday, August 30, 2013
On the Eden Friday, August 30, 2013
Dolphins Friday, August 30, 2013
West Sands Event Thursday, August 15, 2013
Birnie Loch Training and Fun Day Monday, August 12, 2013
Parking disruptions Monday, August 5, 2013
Salt, Coal & Whisky! Tuesday, July 23, 2013
Birnie Loch Family Day Thursday, July 18, 2013
Cows on Fife Coastal Path Tuesday, July 16, 2013
Allan Crow Blog - part 2 Friday, July 12, 2013
Allan Crow Blog Thursday, July 11, 2013
Eden Estuary News Wednesday, July 3, 2013
Introduction to Qigong Tuesday, June 4, 2013
Eden Estuary News Monday, June 3, 2013
Dogs in the Countryside Monday, June 3, 2013
Fife Show 2013 Friday, May 17, 2013
Eden Estuary News Thursday, May 2, 2013
Elie Scarecrow Festival Monday, April 29, 2013
Geology Walk Event Friday, March 8, 2013
Spring Re-vamp Decoupage Event Friday, March 1, 2013
Eden Estuary News Friday, March 1, 2013
Geology Walk Event Thursday, February 21, 2013
Red Squirrel Talk Thursday, February 7, 2013
Eden Estuary News Tuesday, February 5, 2013
Landslips Wednesday, January 9, 2013
Adopt a Beach Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Fife has the only Blue Flag beaches in Scotland!

Monday, June 10, 2013
THREE of Fife’s beaches - the only ones in Scotland - have succeeded in meeting the new qualifying standards and been awarded the prestigious International Blue Flag. These will proudly fly at Aberdour, Burntisland and Elie Ruby Bay during 2013.

This means people using the beaches can be assured of the highest possible water quality and excellent facilities; including the presence of lifeguards, first aid, litter management, access for the disabled and regular cleaning. As well as the 3 Blue Flags, 14 of Fife’s other beaches have also been granted a Seaside Award.

Celebrating some of the cleanest and best managed beaches in the country, the Seaside Award has been used as a quality mark for Scotland's beaches for the past 21 years. St Andrews West Sands is one of only two beaches to have won every year since the awards started in 1993.

Amanda McFarlane, Chief Executive of Fife Coast and Countryside Trust which manages both the beaches and coastal path on behalf of Fife Council, said: “We welcome the European-wide drive for improved water quality as we believe that this gives reassurance to the public.

“We’re thrilled to see that Fife has the only beaches in all of Scotland that has met this new criteria and have been awarded the blue flags. This is another reason why Fife continues to be ranked as the number one destination for outdoor recreation in Scotland.”

Grant Ward, Head of Leisure & Cultural Services, said: “The criteria set for a Blue Flag have changed since last year with beaches having to reach a much higher global water quality standard. To have the only Blue Flags flying in Scotland is a fantastic achievement for all concerned and reflects the hard work and commitment of the Council, Fife Coast & Countryside Trust and communities throughout Fife.

“There are some really innovative pieces of work happening along Fife’s coast that all contribute to delivering award winning beaches year after year.”

· The rural seaside awards were granted to:

· · Aberdour Black Sands,
· · Billowness, Anstruther,
· · Crail Roome Bay
· · Kinghorn Harbour
· · Kingsbarns
· · Kirkcaldy Seafield

· The Resort Seaside Awards were given to:

· · Aberdour Silver Sands
· · Burntisland
· · Elie Harbour Beach
· · Elie Ruby Bay
· · Kinghorn (Pettycur)
· · Leven
· · St Andrews East Sands
· · St Andrews West Sands

Derek Robertson, CEO of Keep Scotland Beautiful said: "Fife should be proud of the achievements of so many beaches across the county that have met the standards required for both Blue Flag and Seaside Awards, some of them doing so consistently over twenty years. The new tougher criteria to be awarded a Blue Flag show that the three Fife beaches are truly exceptional, while the huge range of Seaside Award beaches in Fife, shows the commitment of both the local authority and the Coast and Countryside Trust to managing these precious resources.”
Our Next Event
Christmas Wreath Workshop
FCCTrust
@FCCT @KSBScotland #RoadsideLitter is a blight on our roadsides. Please #GiveYourLitterALift this winter #TakeItHome https://t.co/wl8V1Acxqv