Invitation to Tender Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Christmas Opening Times Monday, December 14, 2015
East Lomond Car Park Closure Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Pathhead Sands Re-Opens to Vehicles Thursday, December 3, 2015
Pilgrim Way Development Phase Launch Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Eden Estuary News December 2015 Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Scottish Thistle Awards Friday, November 13, 2015
Tentsmuir Tree Felling Friday, November 13, 2015
Newburgh Arch Now Open! Friday, November 13, 2015
Eden Estuary News Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Scottish Thistle Awards 2015 Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Loo of the Year 2015 Monday, October 19, 2015
Eden Estuary Newsletter October 2015 Monday, October 5, 2015
Pathhead Sands Friday, October 2, 2015
First steps on Pilgrim Way Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Lochore Meadows Open Weekend Success Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Glen Vale Path Works Monday, September 21, 2015
Calais Muir Improvement Works Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Eden Estuary Newsletter Monday, July 6, 2015
Lochore Meadows Events Monday, June 29, 2015
Fife Show Sunday, June 7, 2015
Seaside Awards 2015 Tuesday, June 2, 2015
4th Annual Elie Scarecrow Festival Monday, April 27, 2015
A New Path for Balcurvie Monday, April 27, 2015
Lochore Meadows six-month update Wednesday, February 4, 2015

First steps on Pilgrim Way

Wednesday, September 30, 2015
The recreation of Fife's Pilgrim Way, a walking route from Culross to St Andrews, came a step nearer reality this week with a major funding boost.

The Heritage Lottery Fund (HLF) awarded £406,400 to develop the route which will allow walkers to retrace the steps of medieval pilgrims through the heart of Fife, passing landmarks including the Inverkeithing Hospitium, Markinch Church, Ceres and the Waterless Way. It will end at St Andrews Cathedral

Fife Coast and Countryside Trust (FCCT) is developing the route in partnership with in partnership with Fife Council and other bodies, and its chief executive Amanda McFarlane described the announcement as: "fantastic news.

"We have had incredible community support for this project and this funding will turn our plans into a reality. This route, once completed will enable people to walk from North Queensferry and Culross to St Andrews through the heart of Fife taking in over 50 medieval sites along the way"

Amanda added: "It will be some time before we can have a finished route ready for walkers, however this is a great step forward."

The HLF funding is the first of two rounds of funding for the Pilgrim Way and means that FCCT will be able to appoint a project development officer to produce a full application to HLF for the creation and interpretation of the path and its heritage features.

Ken Patterson, FCCT's inland team leader, explained: "There is still a lot of work to do as the stage two application must be submitted in 12 months' time. However, we want to get local communities involved in the development and ongoing management of the route as well as with the heritage sites along the way.

"We will be talking to each community to find out how we can work together to make sure the Fife Pilgrim Way is a great experience for walkers, communities and a benefit to local businesses too," he promised.

Commenting from the Heritage Lottery Fund, Dame Seona Reid, Chair of HLF's Scotland Committee, said: ""Heritage is firmly at the centre of shaping and improving local quality of life. In practical terms, heritage projects can provide training and education, encourage tourism and kick-start regeneration, but heritage is also important in emotional terms.

"Towns and communities across Scotland are realising that far from being a dead hand on development and regeneration, heritage can be the catalyst that encourages both. And let's not forget that this important investment is only possible because of the National Lottery players."
Our Next Event
Christmas Wreath Workshop
FCCTrust
@FCCT @KSBScotland #RoadsideLitter is a blight on our roadsides. Please #GiveYourLitterALift this winter #TakeItHome https://t.co/wl8V1Acxqv