Invitation to Tender Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Christmas Opening Times Monday, December 14, 2015
East Lomond Car Park Closure Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Pathhead Sands Re-Opens to Vehicles Thursday, December 3, 2015
Pilgrim Way Development Phase Launch Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Eden Estuary News December 2015 Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Scottish Thistle Awards Friday, November 13, 2015
Tentsmuir Tree Felling Friday, November 13, 2015
Newburgh Arch Now Open! Friday, November 13, 2015
Eden Estuary News Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Scottish Thistle Awards 2015 Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Loo of the Year 2015 Monday, October 19, 2015
Eden Estuary Newsletter October 2015 Monday, October 5, 2015
Pathhead Sands Friday, October 2, 2015
First steps on Pilgrim Way Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Lochore Meadows Open Weekend Success Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Glen Vale Path Works Monday, September 21, 2015
Calais Muir Improvement Works Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Eden Estuary Newsletter Monday, July 6, 2015
Lochore Meadows Events Monday, June 29, 2015
Fife Show Sunday, June 7, 2015
Seaside Awards 2015 Tuesday, June 2, 2015
4th Annual Elie Scarecrow Festival Monday, April 27, 2015
A New Path for Balcurvie Monday, April 27, 2015
Lochore Meadows six-month update Wednesday, February 4, 2015

Living Lomonds Landscape Partnership Working Hard to Conserve Local Landmark

Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Lochore Castle is also known as Inchgall Castle, meaning the ‘Island of Strangers’ and was the island fortress of Adam de Vallance, a Knight from the 13th century. As part of the Living Lomonds Project, Benarty Heritage Group and Fife Coast and Countryside Trust are working to conserve this local landmark and open it to the public.

Our goal is to stabilise and conserve Lochore Castle, allowing its significance as a rare mediaeval building to be researched and explained, and its potential iconic status at Lochore Meadows to be realised.

To date Benarty Heritage Preservation Group (BHPG) and the Living Lomonds Landscape Partnership (LLLP) have secured funding from the Heritage Lottery Fund, Fife Council, Fife Environment Trust, Historic Scotland and the Dalrymple Donaldson Fund. The funds already raised will fund a significant part of the required works, but due to the perilous state of the building additional funding is required to ensure the long term future of the building.

Anthony Zimny of the Benarty Heritage Preservation Group commented, ‘The LLLP and BHPG have already sourced a significant amount of funding, but to ensure that all the necessary work required to allow public access to the castle our architect and surveyor have identified an additional sum in the region £108,000 is required tocomplete the project. We plan to apply for additional funding from local funding bodies, but as a group we have taken the decision to launch a public appeal to raise a sum of £25,000 to help secure the future of this iconic building.’

To make a donation to the Lochore Castle Restoration Appeal, visit https://www.justgiving.com/Lochorecastleappeal

You can also donate by text. Text LCRF92 £2 to 70070.
Our Next Event
Christmas Wreath Workshop
FCCTrust
@FCCT @KSBScotland #RoadsideLitter is a blight on our roadsides. Please #GiveYourLitterALift this winter #TakeItHome https://t.co/wl8V1Acxqv