The House of Falkland has been described as “a rare undiscovered jewel”, nestled at the foot of the East Lomond Hill.
Built between 1839 and 1844 by William Burn, one of the pre-eminent Victorian country houses. Its interiors date from the 1880s onwards when the Marquess of Bute’s craftsmen applied their arts and crafts style to many of the rooms.
The House is in the care of the Centre for Stewardship and it is currently in use as a school specialising in the education and care of boys who require additional support for learning. Access to the House for guided tours can be arranged through the Centre for Stewardship; free tours are arranged for members of the Friends of Falkland Heritage.